Board of Physical Therapy Affirmative Action Plan 2010-2012
Welcome to the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy
2014 License Renewals for Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants – Watch for the Post Card
Renewal reminder post cards have been mailed and the online renewal service has been activated. All MN PT and PTA licenses expire on December 31. The annual renewal fee is $60 and the late fee is $20. You are strongly encouraged to use the online renewal service and renew before mid-December.
For payment by Visa, Master Card, or a check card with a Visa or Master Card logo you must use the online renewal service. There are no transaction fees and this process is fast and efficient for you and the Board.
For payment by check or money order you must submit a paper renewal form. Please print a PT renewal form or PTA renewal form from this website and mail it with your fees to the Board.
If you are unable to renew on line or print a renewal form then you may request a paper renewal form by mailing the renewal notice post card to the Board. Telephone, fax, and email requests will not be accepted. Allow 1 week for delivery of the renewal form to a MN address and 2 weeks to an out-of-state address.
Name changes at the time of license renewal require a paper renewal. Name changes must be accompanied by a notarized copy of the legal document specifying the name change.
You must have an active license to practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant in Minnesota. Practice under a lapsed or nonrenewed credential is a basis for discipline under MS 148.75 (a) (18).
If your license renewal has not been approved by the close of the business day (4:30 PM) on Tuesday, December 31, 2013, then any practice after December 31, 2013, will be looked at as practicing without a license until your license has been renewed for 2014. The Board office will be closed Wednesday, January 1, 2014.
License renewal status and CE report date are available on this website by clicking on Search Licensees
If you do not intend to renew your MN PT or PTA license for 2014 then please notify the Board in writing. Contact information is located at the bottom of this page.
NOTICE REGARDING BOARD ORDERS
If Licensee Search indicates Board Discipline Order or Corrective Action, please click on "Complaints & Discipline" page. The full text of all Board Orders are available on the Complaints & Discipline page. For text of Agreements for Corrective Action, please contact Board office.
NOTICE REGARDING P.T.A. LICENSURE
All P.T.A.s must be MN licensed or hold a temporary permit to practice in Minnesota after July 1, 2008. P.T.A.s without a license must stop practicing as of July 2, 2008. P.T.A. Licensure application and instructions are available under Licensure Information
The Minnesota Physical Therapist Practice Act is available under Legislation
You may print the license application form and instructions from this website Licensure Information
You may search for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants licensed in the State of Minnesota online! Search Licensees
A list of Board Orders and copies of the complete text of the Orders are available under Complaints and Discipline
Online and written verification or certification of MN P.T. or P.T.A. licensure requires payment of $25.00 fee
HPSP: To enhance public protection and provide support for regulated health care professionals whose ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety may be impaired due to illness. You can find more information on the HPSP website.
Mailing list of all Minnesota Licensed P.T.s and P.T.A.s may be requested from firstname.lastname@example.org or 651-296-0930. This mailing list does NOT include licensees' email addresses.
Contact information for P.T. Boards in other states, and P.T. and P.T.A. educational programs under Links
Military Exemption from License Renewal under Board - FAQ
Minnesota Responds! Preparing for an Emergency. Giving P.T.s a chance to help. Information and links under Links.
Website information is available in alternative formats for individuals with disabilities upon request from 612-627-5406 or email@example.com
Minnesota Relay Service for Hearing Impaired 1-800-627-3529
The Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy is an affirmative action / equal opportunity employer. The Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy does not discriminate in employment on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, disability, public assistance, age, sexual orientation, or membership on a local human rights ommission.